## **Emergency Management Council Minutes**

October 10, 2024

#### **Attendees**

Please see pages 3 and 4.

#### Call to Order

The Emergency Management Council meeting was held in person on October 10, 2024, over Teams. It began at 9:00 a.m. and was presided over by Chandra Fox, EMC Chair. Amanda Webster, Emergency Management Division, recorded the minutes.

#### **Opening Comments**

Opening comments were presented by Brigadier General Paul Sellars, Washington State Military Department, Robert Ezelle, Director, EMD, and Morgan Wilson, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor.

### **Approval of Minutes**

A motion to approve the August 8, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Chuck Torelli and seconded by Gene Strong. The motion carried.

### **Regional Issues Impacting Washington**

Willie Nunn, Regional Administrator, FEMA Region 10, provided an overview of regional issues impacting Washington.

#### Work Session - Workshop on WAC 118-30 Updates

Alexa Bach, Planning Supervisor, EMD, provided an overview of the progress for updates to Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 118-30, including the sections on authority, purpose, definitions, responsibilities of political subdivisions, emergency management ordinance/resolution, emergency plan, program papers, review periods, as well as additional points to consider.

### Work Session – Workshop on WAC 118-04 Updates

Amy Allbritton, EMD Search and Rescue Program Manager, and EMC member, provided an overview of changes to WAC 118-04 resulting from House Bill 2135. WAC 118-04 outlines the rules for the administration of the state's emergency worker program. An informational session is scheduled for stakeholders in conjunction with the Tribal forum on October 24, 2024, at Camp Murray.

### **Work Session – Election Security**

Kaylee Zabel, Director of Information Security & Response, Office of the Secretary of State, presented a PowerPoint presentation on Washington State Election Security and the 2024 election schedule.

### Work Session - World Cup 2026 Review

Alexa Bach, EMD Planning Supervisor, and Carolyn Byrd, EMD SEOC Planning Section Chief, presented a PowerPoint presentation on World Cup 2026. Event dates: June 11, 2024-July 19, 2026. Review of Timeline, structure, responsibilities and cascading effects.

### Work Session – EMC Election Prep

Chandra Fox, EMC Chair, asked for nominations for EMC Chair for December election. Robert Ezelle, Kirk Holmes, and John Unfred were nominated. Unfred and Ezelle later withdrew. The election will take place at the December meeting.

### **Open Public Forum**

Jim Baumgart provided a legislative update. WMD 2025-27 decision packages were submitted in September.

# **EMC Adjournment**

Chandra Fox adjourned the meeting at 10:25 a.m.

# **EMC Member Attendance**

Position	Name	Oct 10
Pos 1 Pri	Fredrick Brink	A
Pos 1 Alt	Chuck Torelli	P
Pos 2 Pri	Gene Strong	P
Pos 2 Alt	Mark Ozias	A
Pos 3 Pri	Chief Scott Engle	P
Pos 3 Alt	Chief Peter Fisher	A
Pos 4 Pri	Chief John Batiste	A
Pos 4 Alt	Arel Solie	P
Pos 5 Pri	Robert Ezelle	P
Pos 5 Alt	Sharon Wallace	P
Pos 6 Pri	Jim Pendowski	P
Pos 6 Alt	Jacob Rain	P
Pos 7 Pri	Chief Chad Cross	P
Pos 7 Alt	Melissa Gannie	P
Pos 8 Pri	Chief Michael Harris	A
Pos 8 Alt	Vacant	-
Pos 9 Pri	Hilary S. Franz	A
Pos 9 Alt	Casey Hanell	P
Pos 10 Pri	Chandra Fox	P
Pos 10 Alt	Alysha Kaplan	P
Pos 11 Pri	JoAnn Boggs	P
Pos 11 Alt	John Unfred	A
Pos 12 Pri	Amy Allbritton	P
Pos 12 Alt	Lt. Trent Stephens	A
Pos 13 Pri	Nathan Weed	P
Pos 13 Alt	Ron Weaver	A
Pos 14 Pri	Quyen Thai	A
Pos 14 Alt	Ryan Mumma	A
Pos 15 Pri	Greg Welch	A
Pos 15 Alt	Dru Garson	P
Pos 16 Pri	John Himmel	A
Pos 16 Alt	Vacant	-
Pos 17 Pri	Kirk Holmes	A
Pos 17 Alt	Kristi Oosterveen	P
Pos 18 Pri	Anna Marie Dufault	A
Pos 18 Alt	Amber Wynn	P
Pos 19 Pri	Annie Pillers	P

Pos 19 Alt	Christie Masters	Р
Pos 20 Pri	Vacant	-
Pos 20 Alt	Elizabeth Sanchey	A
Pos 21 Pri	Cherrie May	A
Pos 21 Alt	Jeff Choke	P

## **EMC Guest Attendance**

Vince Maykovich

Brendan McCluskey

Morgan Wilson

**Hannah Cleverly** 

Sandi Duffey

Leonard Johnson

Zak Myers

Deanna Davis

Kathryn Zetzer

Deborah Witmer

Kylee Zabel

Robert Burbidge

Hannah William

Joan Cromley

Larry Hembree

Nicholas Gibbons

Nancy B.

**Travis Nichols** 

Nick Bacon

Adenea Sellars

Gabe Baez

**Chris Barnes** 

Bill Tensfeld

Desi Lockard

Frances Burkhart

Leonard Johnson

### **EMD Staff**

Alexa Bach

Anne-marie Marshall-Dody

Melissa Morris

Katie Spiekermann

Sierra Wardell

Ariannah Payne

Carolyn Byrd

Gail Cram

Stacey McClain

Victoria Fontana